Family used to ignore me, now they want a "relationship" with me

Discussion in 'Family Issues' started by StevenGold, Aug 17, 2016.

?

Should you ignore family that used to ingore you, but now wants a relationship?

1. Y

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. N

1 vote(s)
    50.0%
  3. Undecided

1 vote(s)
    50.0%
  1. StevenGold

StevenGold New Member

Hey everyone,

first post on this forum. Ive endlessly googled my situation to see if anyone can relate or has gone through similar things. Its getting to the point where Im at a crossroads and have to make a decision. Any advice is appreciated! Would love to hear if anyone has had similar situations, and to talk about it

I moved out when I was 17 to pursue a degree in music. My family didn't really agree with my choice and wanted me to get a 4 year degree in something more "realistic". 5 years later, Im a music professional and work at a Label. I make descent money, but money doesn't really mean much when you're lonely and have no one to share it with. I have one person i consider to be my best friend, but other than that my co-workers are the closest thing to friends for me.

From the time I was 17-19 my family ignored me for the most part. Wouldn't answer my calls or messages. And during the holidays they would call to tell me "Sorry, we've been so busy." and then proceed to tell me how their life is going. I would be engaged, asking questions & talking about their life. Hoping they would maybe ask about how my life is going, of course that would never happen. Over time, the resentment I felt only grew.

I remember last year, my moms friend asked me "So what do you do?" and so i told them, "I work at a record label" and my mom, was like, "wait, really? you do? i had no idea." my heart sank when she said that, because it sort of blew my mind that my mum's friend was more interested in my life than she was.